law firms in uae best law firms in Dubai

law firms in uae best law firms in Dubai

إن الإسلام شرع وسيلة التحكيم لتسهيل عملية التقاضي واختصارها وقد أولى الفقه الإسلامي موضوع التحكيم عناية قصوى، فنظمه تنظيماً جيداً ووضع له ضوابط وقواعد. وتكمن مزايا التحكيم في قلة كلفته وتبسيط إجراءاته وسرعته، وسرية جلساته، واتساع أسسه، خصوصا إذا كان القائمون به مشهوداً لهم بالكفاءة والمهارة والاستقلالية والخبرة والاستقامة والنزاهة والحكمة

ولم يخرج تعريف التحكيم عند فقهاء القانون الوضعي عن فقهاء الشريعة فهو عندهم اتفاق ذوي الشأن على عرض نزاع معين قائم، على فرد أو أفراد أو هيئة للفصل فيه دون المحكمة المختصة

وإن التحكيم مشروع تدل عليه الأدلة من الكتاب والسنة، وأنه يختلف عن الإفتاء، والقضاء والصلح والتوفيق، وأنه عقد مستقل له خصوصيته وشروطه وضوابطه ومبادئه، وأن التحكيم في الفقه الإسلامي تتسع دائرته كل المجالات المالية والاجتماعية ونحوها ما عدا الحدود واللعان والعقوبات

ومن الأدلة على مشروعية التحكيم في القرآن الكريم قوله تعالى: (وإن خفتم شقاق بينهما فابعثوا حكما من أهله وحكما من أهلها إن يريدا إصلاحا يوفق الله بينهما إن الله كان عليما خبيرا) النساء 35، وأيضا قوله تعالى: (فلا وربك لا يومنون حتى يحكموك فيما شجر بينهم ثم لا يجدوا في أنفسهم حرجا مما قضيت ويسلموا تسليما) النساء 65. أما في السنة النبوية: فقد روي عن رسول الله، صلى الله عليه وسلم، أنه قال: “من حكم بين اثنين تراضيا به فلم يعدل بينهما فعليه لعنة الله”. أما الإجماع: فقد أجمع الصحابة رضوان الله عليهم على جواز التحكيم ومشروعيته

وقد اهتمت البلاد الإسلامية والعربية بالتحكيم فأفردت له باباً خاصاً في قوانين المرافعات والإجراءات المدنية والتجارية بل خصته بعض الدول كدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بنظام مستقل من خلال القانون الاتحادي رقم (6) لسنة 2018، كما أن معظمها قد انضم إلى اتفاقية نيويورك عام 1958م وصادق عليها

وأيد مجلس مجمع الفقه الإسلامي المنعقد في دورة مؤتمره التاسع بأبو ظبي بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة (أبريل) 1995م التحكيم كوسيلة شرعية لفض المنازعات حيث قرر بأن التحكيم اتفاق طرفي خصومة معينة، على تولية من يفصل في منازعة بينهما، بحكم ملزم، يطبق الشريعة الإسلامية .وهو مشروع سواء أكان بين الأفراد أم في مجال المنازعات الدولية، وأوضح بأن التحكيم عقد غير لازم لكل من الطرفين المحتكمين والحكم، فيجوز لكل من الطرفين الرجوع فيه ما لم يشرع الحكم في التحكيم، ويجوز للحكم أن يعزل نفسه – ولو بعد قبوله – ما دام لم يصدر حكمه، ولا يجوز له أن يستخلف غيره دون إذن الطرفين، لأن الرضا مرتبط بشخصه ، وقرر المجمع بأنه لا يجوز التحكيم في كل ما هو حق لله تعالى كالحدود، ولا فيما استلزم الحكمُ فيه إثبات حكم أو نفيه بالنسبة لغير المتحاكمين ممن لا ولاية للحَكَم عليه، كاللعان، لتعلق حق الولد به، ولا فيما ينفرد القضاء دون غيره بالنظر فيه. فإذا قضى الحكم فيما لا يجوز فيه التحكيم فحكمه باطل ولا ينفذ ويشترط في الحكم بحسب الأصل توافر شروط القضاء والأصل أن يتم تنفيذ حكم المُحكّم طواعية، فإن أبى أحد المحتكمين، عرض الأمر على القضاء لتنفيذه، وليس للقضاء نقضه، ما لم يكن جوراً بيناً، أو مخالفاً لحكم الشرع.  وقد بين المجمع بأنه إذا لم تكن هناك محاكم دولية إسلامية، فإنه يجوز احتكام الدول أو المؤسسات الإسلامية إلى محاكم دولية غير إسلامية، توصلاً، لما هو جائز شرعاً

ولا شك بأن هنالك فروقاً واضحة بين القضاء والتحكيم، حيث يستبان من موضوع الاختصاص بأن للقاضي ولاية أوسع من دائرة التحكيم الذي لا يمكن استخدامه بما يتعلق بالحدود والقصاص والنكاح مثلاً. كما أن حجة حكم التحكيم تكون ملزمة للأطراف أما حكم القاضي حجة على العموم، ولا يحق للمحكم تفويض غيره بالتحكيم أما القاضي فيستطيع ذلك. وفي المقابل فإن التحكيم أوسع من القضاء في الاختصاص المكاني، فالتحكيم يصح بين الطرفين، ولو اختلفت أمكنتهم، أما قضاء القاضي فمقيد بالنظر وفقاً لقواعد الاختصاص المكاني وبالتالي يجوز للحكم أن ينظر في قضية برضى الطرفين ولو كان المدعى عليه لا يقيم في بلد التحكيم

وقد برزت أهمية التحكيم الإسلامي في السنوات الأخيرة بشكل تصاعدي حيث أظهرت الحاجة إلى فضِّ النزاعات الخاصَّة بالمعاملات التجارية عموماً، والمتعلقة في الصناعة المالية الإسلامية خُصوصاً، إلى إيجاد آليات تَعتمد على مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية في فض نزاعاتها، وذلك لتعاظم دور المؤسَّسات المالية الإسلامية على الساحة الدولية، وضرورة استيعاب بعض خصائص العمل المصرفي الإسلامي

ويعتبر المركز الإسلامي الدولي للصلح والتحكيم مؤسسة دولية مستقلة، غير ربحية في الصناعة المالية الإسلامية حيث يختص المركز بفض كافة المنازعات المالية والتجارية التي تنشأ بين المؤسسات المالية أو التجارية وعملائها، أو بينها وبين أطراف ثالثة، والتي تختار تطبيق الشريعة الإسلامية في فض نزاعاتها عن طريق التحكيم. يمارس المركز نشاطاته محلياً، وعلى مستوى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ودولياً. ويطلب موافقة الطرفين على تكليف المركز بالتحكيم

Mohammed R Alsuwaidi, Managing Partner

Islam has legitimized the arbitration method in order to simplify the process of litigation. Islamic jurisprudence has given the subject of arbitration utmost attention and organized a well-established rules and regulations. The advantages of arbitration lie in streamlining its procedures, confidentiality of its hearings, and legal basis in particular if those in charge are recognized for their competence, skill, independence, experience, integrity and wisdom, as well as the possibility of implementing its provisions internationally.

The definition of arbitration in law is equivalent to  Islamic Shari’a, which is an agreement between concerned parties for the resolution of disputes outside the courts, wherein the parties to a dispute refer it to one or more persons (the “arbitrators” or “arbitral tribunal”), by whose decision (the “award”) they agree to be bound.

The legitimacy of arbitration is evidenced by the Holy Qur’aan and Sunnah, and it differs from Fatwa, judiciary, reconciliation and conciliation, and is a separate contract with its specificities, conditions, rules, and principles. Arbitration in Islamic jurisprudence expands in all its financial and social fields, except Hudud (boundaries), Li’aan (“Mutual cursing”– a form of divorce), and penalties.

We find the evidence of  legitimacy of arbitration in the Holy Quran, Allah Almighty Says: (If ye fear a breach between them twain, appoint (two) arbiters, one from his family, and the other from hers; if they wish for peace, Allah will cause their reconciliation: For Allah hath full knowledge, and is acquainted with all things)  An-Nisa: Verse 35, and also says: (But no, by the Lord, they can have no (real) Faith, until they make thee judge in all disputes between them, and find in their souls no resistance against Thy decisions, but accept them with the fullest conviction) An-Nisa: Verse 65. In the Prophetic Sunnah, It was narrated from the Messenger of Allah, peace be upon him, that he said: “Whoever arbitrates between two consensual without fairness, the curse of Allah on him.” As for the consensus: the Companions of prophet, agreed on the permissibility and legitimacy of arbitration.

The Islamic and Arab countries paid a particular attention in arbitration, they have a special chapter in the Civil and Commercial Procedures Code. Some countries such as United Arab Emirates recognized arbritration as an independent system through Federal Law No. 6 of 2018. Most of the Islamic and Arab countries joined and ratified New York Convention 1958.

The International Islamic Fiqh Academy in its ninth session which was held in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (April 1995), supported arbitration as a legitimate means of dispute settlement and decided that arbitration is an agreement between the two parties to a specific dispute, to mandate a third party to arbitrate between them and settle their differences through a binding verdict that is observant of Islamic Shari’a. Arbitration, thus conceived, is permissible, whether it is amongst individuals or in the field of international conflicts. It has been clarified that Arbitration is not mandatory for the two conflicting parties nor is it for the arbitrator. Either of the parties may decline it as long as the arbitration has not started, and the arbitrator may disassociate himself from the matter – even after consenting once – as long as he has not initiated issuing any verdict. He may not designate someone else as a substitute for himself without the authorization of the two parties concerned, for their consent is tied up to his own personality.

No arbitration is permissible in matters that are exclusive divine right, such as Hudud (boundaries), nor in matters for which a verdict is dependent on the establishment or rebuttal of another verdict concerning a third party over whom the arbitrator has no trusteeship, such as “Li’aan*” (“Mutual cursing” — a form of divorce), in view of its impact on the child’s right; Nor is arbitration permissible in matters that fall within the exclusive realm of jurisdiction. Any arbitration in matters that are not eligible for arbitration is null and void. The rule is that the verdict issued by the arbitrator should be carried through voluntarily. In case of refusal by either party, the matter is submitted for implementation to the law courts, and the latter may not repeal the verdict unless it is found to constitute an obvious inequity or in contrary to Shari ‘a. The council has clarified that in the in the absence of any international Islamic Court, Islamic States or institutions may seek arbitration from non-Islamic courts in a quest for Shari ‘a-compatible settlement.

It is clear that there are significant differences between the judiciary and the arbitration, as it is clear from the subject of jurisdiction that the judge has a broader jurisdiction than the arbitral tribunal, which cannot be used in arbitration such as Hudud (boundaries), punishment and marriage. The argument of the arbitral decision is binding on the parties, whereas, argument of judgment of a court is generally valid. The arbitrator cannot delegate another to arbitrate, but the judge can delegate another judge. Arbitration is broader than the judiciary in territorial jurisdiction, as arbitration is valid between the two parties, even if their places are different, whereas, in court jurisdiction, the judge is restricted according to the rules of jurisdiction. Accordingly, the arbitrator may consider the case with the consent of both parties even if the respondent does not reside in the country of arbitration.

The importance of Islamic arbitration in recent years has been growing exponentially. The need to resolve disputes related to commercial transactions in general, especially in the Islamic financial industry, which has led to create  mechanisms based on the principles of Islamic Shari’a in resolving disputes due to  the increasing role of Islamic financial institutions internationally, and the need to absorb some of the characteristics of Islamic banking.

The International Islamic Centre for Reconciliation and Arbitration (IICRA) is an independent, non-profit international Islamic financial industry, where the Center specializes in resolving all financial and commercial disputes that arise between financial or commercial institutions and their customers, or between them and third parties, which choose to apply Islamic law to settle disputes through arbitration. The Center operates locally, Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) and internationally.  The consent of two parties is required to entrust the Center with arbitration.